Donor Advisory Board

Judge Richard S. Bray

President & CEO, Beazley Foundation

Judge Richard Bray has served as president and CEO of the Beazley Foundation since 2002. Under his leadership, the Beazley Foundation has promoted stronger graduation requirements at Virginia colleges and universities through targeted grantmaking. For eight years prior to assuming its presidency, he was a trustee of the Foundation. Judge Bray previously served on the Court of Appeals of Virginia from 1991 to 2002 and on the Circuit Court of the City of Portsmouth, VA, from 1989 to 1991. Prior to joining the bench, he practiced law in Chesapeake, VA. He received his B.A. from Randolph-Macon College and his J.D. from the Marshall-Wythe School of Law at the College of William & Mary.


Robert C. Dickeson, Ph.D.

President Emeritus, University of Northern Colorado

Robert C. Dickeson is the president emeritus of the University of Northern Colorado, past president of the Association of Public College and University Presidents, and co-founder of the Lumina Foundation for Education, now the nation’s largest private supporter of initiatives to increase college graduation rates. He also has served as Colorado’s commissioner to the Education Commission of the States and as a member of the Commission on Minorities in Higher Education. Currently, he is president and principal of Academic Strategy Partners, as well as principal and senior executive of Education Metrics, LLC. A graduate of the University of Missouri–Columbia, where he received both his undergraduate and graduate degrees, Dr. Dickeson is the author of more than 200 publications on higher education and public administration, including Prioritizing Academic Programs and Services (Second edition, 2010).


Michael C. Maibach

Managing Director, James Wilson Institute

Michael C. Maibach is a fellow of the International Academy of Management and managing director of the James Wilson Institute for Natural Rights and the American Founding. A seasoned professional in global business diplomacy, he previously served as president and CEO of the European-American Business Council as well as vice president of global government affairs at the Intel Corporation. He serves on the boards of the John Jay Institute, the Witherspoon Institute, and ConSource. As an undergraduate, he was elected to the DeKalb County Board in Illinois, becoming the first person under 21 years of age elected to public office in U.S. history. A self-professed “lifelong learner,” Mr. Maibach has three bachelor’s degrees and three, soon to be four, master’s degrees.


Renee F. Seblatnigg, Esq.

Renee Seblatnigg is an attorney specializing in civil litigation in private practice in Connecticut. She is currently the chair of the Pilots Program Steering Committee at the Mystic Seaport Museum in Mystic, CT. From 2006 to 2011, Ms. Seblatnigg served as president of the Future of Newcomb College, Inc., a nonprofit group of alumnae and supporters that sought to defend the wishes of Newcomb College’s founding donor by opposing Tulane University’s plan to dissolve the college. Earlier in her career, she was Senior Business Development Consultant in the office of the chairman of Deloitte & Touche. Previously in her legal career, she practiced maritime law in New York and in London. Ms. Seblatnigg received her B.A. from Newcomb College and her J.D. from Pace University School of Law.


Our Leadership »

“It has probably never been more difficult to donate prudently to higher education than it is today, when so many basic assumptions about the aims of higher education and the norms of scholarship are in dispute. ACTA’s Fund for Academic Renewal is an invaluable asset to any donor who wishes to make informed decisions.”

Truman Anderson

Executive Director, The Stuart Family Foundation

The Fund for Academic Renewal is a program of the American Council of Trustees and Alumni, a not-for-profit, tax-exempt organization as defined by Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. All contributions to FAR are fully tax-deductible to the maximum extent provided by law.